Public Agency Bicycle Advisory Committees
SVBC works on getting San Mateo and Santa Clara Counties, the cities within, and other relevant transportation agencies to value, include and encourage bicycling for all purposes for all people. However, we can’t be everywhere all the time, and we need YOUR help in your local community. To make a difference in the city you live, work, or play in, consider joining or attending your city’s Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC), Bicycle Advisory Committee (BAC) or other relevant committee. See table below for a full list of committees.

What is a BPAC?

A BPAC is a group of knowledgeable volunteers who are appointed by the City Council (or other government body) to advise them on all bike-related matters. If you want to improve conditions for bicycling in your city, this is the place to start. Hot tip: cities aren’t the only agencies with BPACs: multijurisdictional organizations like the Valley Transportation Agency (VTA), Caltrain, San Mateo County’s City and County Association of Governments (CCAG), and others can also have BACs. In addition, some jurisdictions have a committee that includes bicyclist perspectives but has a broader purpose, such as a Traffic Safety Committee or Transportation Committee.

Some examples of BPAC’s duties:

  • Review road projects to insure bicyclist needs are considered.
  • Recommend bicycle infrastructure improvements.
  • Lobby for grant funding to finance those improvements.
  • Advocate for policy and procedure changes.

Why get involved?

By attending BPAC meetings, participating as a committee member, or contacting the committee, you will make your voice heard. Some other reasons to get active:

  • Get your questions answered! Why isn’t there a bike lane on your street? The city or other agency may be considering this or there could be alternatives nearby.
  • Share safety concerns. Sometimes a city or other agency is unaware of a problem until someone brings it to their attention through public forums such as these.
  • Find out about new bike projects, policies, or events.
  • Help the BPAC by being additional “eyes and ears” on the street to help them do their best possible job.
  • Show the City Council that their constituents care about bicycling improvements.
  • Become a more effective bicycling advocate by keeping yourself better informed.

Find out more about your city’s committees and countywide committees below:

CITIES/TOWNS
Jurisdiction (website links) Type Staff Contact
Atherton Transportation Committee Michael Kashiwagi mkashiwagi@ci.atherton.ca.us
Belmont Parks and Recreation Committee
Brisbane Complete Streets Committee John Quilter
Burlingame Traffic Safety and Parking Commission  Andrew Wong awong@burlingame.org
Campbell Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee Matthew Jue publicworks@cityofcampbell.com
Colma
Cupertino Bicycle Pedestrian Commission David Stillman davids@cupertino.org
Daly City Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee Shirley Chan schan@dalycity.org
East Palo Alto Transportation Committee
Fremont Rene Dalton rdalton@ci.fremont.ca.us
Foster City Traffic Review Committee publicworks@fostercity.org
Gilroy Bicycle Pedestrian Commission Zachary Hilton Zachary.Hilton@ci.gilroy.ca.us
Half Moon Bay
Hillsborough
Los Altos Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Commission Cedric Novenario cnovenario@losaltosca.gov
Los Altos Hills Traffic Safety Committee Rich Larsen
Los Gatos Kevin Rohani ppw@losgatosca.gov
Menlo Park Complete Streets Commission Nicole Nagaya nhnagaya@menlopark.org
Millbrae  Parks and Recreation Committee
Milpitas Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Commission Steve Chan schan@ci.milpitas.ca.gov
Morgan Hill Bicycle and Trails Advisory Committee Julie Behzad julie.behzad@morganhill.ca.gov
Mountain View Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee Public Works Department bpac@mountainview.gov
Pacifica
Palo Alto  Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Chris Corrao christopher.corrao@cityofpaloalto.org
Portola Valley Bicycle, Pedestrian & Traffic Safety Committee Ed Holland Edward.holland1@btinternet.com
Redwood City Complete Streets Committee Susan Wheeler swheeler@redwoodcity.org
San Bruno Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee Matt Jones mjones@sanbruno.ca.gov
San Carlos Transportation & Circulation Committee Jay Walter jwalter@cityofsancarlos.org
San Jose Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee John Brazil john.brazil@sanjoseca.gov
San Mateo Public Works Commission Gary Heap gheap@cityofsanmateo.org
Santa Clara Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee Marshall Johnson mjohnson@santaclaraca.gov
Saratoga Iveta Harvancik iharvancik@saratoga.ca.us
South San Francisco Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee Sailesh Mehra Sailesh.Mehra@ssf.net
Sunnyvale Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Commission Jack Witthaus jwitthaus@sunnyvale.ca.gov
Woodside Circulation Committee Dong Nguyen DNguyen@woodsidetown.org
COUNTYWIDE/REGIONAL
Jurisdiction (website links) Type Staff Contact
Caltrain Bicycle Advisory Committee bac@caltrain.com
Caltrans District 4 Bicycle Advisory Committee Sergio Ruiz sergio.ruiz@dot.ca.gov
San Mateo County Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Kaley Lyons klyons@smcgov.org
San Mateo County City and County Association of Governments (CCAG) Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Sara Muse smuse@smcgov.org
San Mateo County Transportation Authority Citizen Advisory Committee cac@smcta.com
Samtrans Citizen Advisory Committee cacsecretary@samtrans.com
Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee board.secretary@vta.org