Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committees

While we work on getting cities and other transportation organizations together to make bicycling a priority in all road and path development projects, we need your help in your own city.

Be it where you work, live or play, the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committees (BPAC’s) take action on a local level. BPAC’s are on the front lines of all city issues, and we’ve given each of them across both San Mateo and Santa Clara counties their own page to share with you what their working on and how you can help improve bicycling in your own city.

What is a BPAC?

Your BPAC is a group of knowledgeable volunteers who are appointed by the City Council to advise them on all bike-related matters. Among their duties, they review road projects to insure cyclist needs are considered; recommend bicycle infrastructure improvements; lobby for grant funding to finance those improvements; and advocate policy and procedure changes to eliminate longstanding anti-cycling bias within many local government departments. These volunteers represent your official voice in City Hall. If you want to improve cycling conditions in your city, this is the place to start.

Why you should get Active

Maintaining regular contact with your BPAC by attending meetings and sending email is beneficial in multiple ways. BPAC members rely on interested cyclists acting as additional “eyes and ears” on the street to help them do their best possible job. By keeping yourself informed about BPAC activities, you will be a more effective cycling advocate. And the more public interest the City Council observes for cycling improvements, the more inclined they are to respond favorably. A common misconception is that one voice can’t possibly make a difference. Give it a try, and you just might be pleasantly surprised! Anyway, what have you got to lose?

Take action! Every little bit counts. Join a BPAC below, and make sure to check our site for updates from your local committee.

Committee Listing

BPAC Staff E-mail Website
Atherton Duncan Jones http://www.ci.atherton.ca.us/
Belmont Joni Stallings jonis@belmont.gov http://www.belmont.gov/
Brisbane John Quilter http://www.ci.brisbane.ca.us/html/cityCouncil/bike_ped.asp
Burlingame http://www.burlingame.org/index.aspx?page=917
CalTrain Michelle Bouchard bouchardm@samtrans.com http://www.caltrain.org/caltrain_bikes2.html
Caltrans Ken McGuire Ken_Mcguire@dot.ca.gov http://www.dot.ca.gov/hq/tpp/offices/bike/cbac.htm
Campbell Matthew Jue publicworks@cityofcampbell.com http://www.ci.campbell.ca.us/PublicWorks/BicycleAdvisoryCommittee.htm
Colma http://www.colma.ca.gov/
Cupertino David Stillman davids@cupertino.org http://www.cupertino.org/index.aspx?page=51
Fremont Rene Dalton rdalton@ci.fremont.ca.us http://www.ci.fremont.ca.us/Community/Traffic/BicycleAndPedestrianProgram.htm
Gilroy Don Dey ddey@ci.gilroy.ca.us http://www.ci.gilroy.ca.us/
Los Altos Kathy Small Kathy.Small@losaltosca.gov http://www.losaltosca.gov/committees-commissions/bpac/index.htm
Los Altos Hills Cyrus Kianpour http://www.losaltoshills.ca.gov/volunteer/pathways.html
Los Gatos Kevin Rohani ppw@losgatosca.gov http://www.town.los-gatos.ca.us/index.asp?nid=1389
Menlo Park Rich Angulo RFAngulo@menlopark.org http://www.menlopark.org/commissions/com_bicycle.html
Milpitas Janice Spuller jspuller@ci.milpitas.ca.gov http://www.ci.milpitas.ca.gov/government/commissions/bicycle.asp
Morgan Hills Bicycle and Trails Advisory Committee Julie Behzad julie.behzad@morganhill.ca.gov http://www.morgan-hill.ca.gov/html/gov/boards/boards.asp?c_id=240000022
Mountain View Jenny Fire public.works@mountainview.gov http://www.mountainview.gov/city_council/bcc/bicycle_pedestrian.asp
Palo Alto Rafael Rius Rafael.Rius@CityofPaloAlto.org http://www.cityofpaloalto.org/depts/pln/news/details.asp?NewsID=497&TargetID=107
Redwood City Susan Wheeler swheeler@redwoodcity.org http://www.redwoodcity.org/
San Bruno Laura Russell LRussell@sanbruno.ca.gov http://www.sanbruno.ca.gov/committee_bicycle.asp
San Carlos Robert Weil rweil@cityofsancarlos.org http://www.cityofsancarlos.org/meetings/tnc/default.asp
San Jose John Brazil john.brazil@sanjoseca.gov http://www.sanjoseca.gov/transportation/bikeped/bikeped_Advisory_Committee.asp
San Mateo Gary Heap gheap@cityofsanmateo.org http://www.cityofsanmateo.org/index.asp?NID=226
San Mateo City/County Association of Governments (C/CAG) Tom Madalena tmadalena@co.sanmateo.ca.us http://www.ccag.ca.gov/bpac.html
Santa Clara Marshall Johnson mjohnson@santaclaraca.gov http://santaclaraca.gov/index.aspx?page=1201
Saratoga Iveta Harvancik iharvancik@saratoga.ca.us http://www.saratoga.ca.us/boards-commissions/pedestrian/index.html
Sunnyvale Jack Witthaus jwitthaus@sunnyvale.ca.gov http://sunnyvale.ca.gov/CityGovernment/BoardsandCommissions/BicycleandPedestrian…
VTA Michelle deRobertis michelle.derobertis@vta.org http://www.vta.org/inside/boards/committee_advisory/bpac/agendas_minutes/bpac_cu…
Woodside Dong Nguyen DNguyen@woodsidetown.org Town of Woodside Circulation Committee